top of page

Meet the Writer: Mari Assad


Mari Assad is a writer and actress. One day she hopes to rule the world with her jokes and blogs.

Tell us about A Great Vice? A Great Vice is taken from one of my favorite Shakespeare plays, Othello. I was obsessed with Iago. I always wanted to know why he wanted to ruin Desdemona and Othello. He has a passion, an exhausting passion. One day, I thought about the idea of a woman playing Iago, women truly understand jealousy. And I loved the idea of these two developing a fierce friendship.

What inspires your writing? Relationships. I love watching television shows based on the weirdest friendships. "Game of Thrones" has Tyrion and his father's relationship. "Shameless" is the relationship of six kids with each other and their alcoholic father. Relationships are inspiring, it is what makes or breaks a person.

What kind of theatre excites you? SWORD FIGHTING! Bring on all the swords and let me play with them! LET ME FIGHT. And I love plays with accents, I want to be Irish dammit!

Who would win in a fight, Batman or Superman?

SUPERMAN WOULD WIN THE FIGHT, NO QUESTIONS ASKED. This is not a debate. Superman, is super. Batman is a spoiled rich man with gadgets. Superman cares! Superman would call after he took you out on a nice romantic date!

See Mari's play A Great Vice in Becky and Baldwin's Other Plays on November 5 at Collective Arts Incubator.


bottom of page