top of page

Meet the Writer: Mara De La Rosa


Mara De La Rosa wears glasses. Originally from the Philippines, she now makes films and theatre in Los Angeles. Mara is a co-founder of Becky and Baldwin.

Tell us about Ugly Girl Chronicles: Ep. 1.

It's a sneak peak of a TV series I'm writing that basically follows the struggle of a "plain Jane" living in Los Angeles. In this sneak peak we follow Monica trying to lose her virginity the night before she gets a pap smear. She is determined to get her cherry popped, so she's willing to sleep with the first guy she sees.

What inspires your writing?

Anything and everything. Most of the time it's the shitty things that happen in life that triggers an idea, or sometimes when I'm really bored and I want something magical to happen. Then there are also my muses, who drive me wild but inspire to me to write the most boring characters. I don't know, different things. You probably inspire me.

Who would win a fight between Spider-Man and Batman? Why?

Which one swings and which one doesn't? Or do they both fly? I win because I'm real.

What's next? Plug your next projects!

We're currently in post production for my short, BASTARD. We're hoping to be in the festival circuit in the next year. Other than that, I'm working on independent film projects and writing.

See Mara's Ugly Girl Chronicles: Ep. 1 in Becky and Baldwin's Other Plays on November 5 at Collective Arts Incubator.


bottom of page